Topic 1 Reflective Summary

Many of my classmates mentioned the fundamental differences between what classifies a digital visitor and a digital resident. Two of them in particular shared interesting points that got me thinking about some other ideas that may never have crossed my mind.

Isaac got me thinking about whether the visitor resident mapping process is helpful in a business/marketing context. It made me realise that the mapping process does have its limitations, and the usefulness of it really depends on the context of the company as well.

I also probed Isaac on whether he thinks having a digital profile serves to be more advantageous or disadvantageous for us. This came across my mind because we often hear bad examples of companies firing their employees after discovering about their lifestyles from their online profiles, or worst still, because they have posted some unprofessional remarks on their digital space.

Sara brought up an interesting point that as long as there is a need for digital literacy, people will learn to do stuff. It got me questioning whether is the need really strong enough for our population to be digital literate and what it would take to migrate everyone online and reach a certain standard of digital literacy, if such a standard is even in place?

Another interesting point I learnt from Sara was that we can actually be both digital visitors and residents, depending on the purpose of our online activities. This however, made me question the usefulness of the digital visitor and resident category, and if they can really add value to companies and universities.

Isaac’s blog post: http://isaaclye.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/visitors-residents-and-me/comment-page-1/#comment-2

Sara’s blog post: http://saradanlee.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/digital-visitor-vs-digital-resident/

Leave a comment